Daily Archives: June 27, 2017

Please call your senators TODAY

I’m over at Huffpost this morning with one final advocacy piece before the AHCA vote this week.  If you’ve been reading my posts over the last few months, you know how discouraged and concerned I am about the proposed Medicaid cuts and how they would affect our family and families like others, children, and the elderly.  The CBO score for this bill just came out and it projects that under it 22 million people would lose their insurance before 2026!

But Senators are listening to their constituents.

Both Dean Heller of Nevada and Susan Collins of Maine have recently announced that they will not support the bill!  If you have a Republican Senator please call them everyday this week until the vote to ask them to vote NO on the AHCA, and you’re welcome to use our story!  If you’re from Alaska, West Virginia, Maine, Nevada, Arizona, Colorado, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Louisiana, or Arkansas, these are key states where your senators remain undecided and you should definitely call and there are daily call scripts for those states available here.  If you have Democratic Senators, make sure they are speaking out against the bill and willing to use any means to block it.  But the best thing you can do is reach out to friends and family in the ten states above and ask them to call!

One of the beauties of this blog is that I don’t know all of you personally but I feel like I’ve come to know you over the years.  And I’d love to hear from you.  Please leave a comment in the comment section and let me know where you’re from and who you’ve called.

And please head over to Huffpost when you have a chance and read my latest “My Baby Wasn’t Born Healthy and Her Life Still Matters.”

And thank you for all your support!

Laughing
Lucia giggles in her activity chair provided by Medicaid.  My photo.