What I Learned in 2016

Publicly 2016 has been a year that will go down as one of the most violent, tumultuous, and cruel.  I had been thinking of it that way myself, until I came across this article that speaks to some of the less covered triumphs of the year, and until I did my own year in review on the blog.

I was shocked to realize that it was only just a year ago that I began sharing Lucia’s story on the blog, and although this year hasn’t been easy, she continues to teach me more about life and love and God than practically any other human being on the planet.  She’s inspired a whole category of posts (22, make this 23, in fact) on disability, and she’s made me realize how valuable it is to share journeys of hardship and strength with one another.  Thank you all for letting me share!

As I’ve done many years before, here are some of the lessons I’ve learned from life and God and Lucia in 2016.  Follow along with me and find your own redemption in 2016.  Looking through these lessons always reminds me how emphatically present God really is in our lives, how far I’ve come in terms of my understanding of God, and of course, how much further I have to go.

adbaf3184c8c91cc161c0fff5f286862
Art credit.

Here’s to 2017!  May it be bright, peaceful, and chocked full of spiritual wisdom and hope for all of you.

  1.  I’m not sorry–nope, not one bit!
  2. Sometimes the faith of others can carry you through.
  3. We are all needy.
  4. Forgoing security for faith is, well, what the life of faith is all about.
  5. Modern medicine doesn’t have a monopoly on what it means to live a meaningful life.
  6. The Church needs people with disabilities!
  7. I have learned to hope again.
  8. It’s all ministry.
  9. Luck’s got very little to do with it.
  10. I embrace difference as a spiritual discipline.
  11. Conviction is a luxury.
  12. Who could have imagined life would be this grand?
  13. Let’s not make grief unpalatable.
  14. Joy often comes in the midst of despair.

 

P.s. Here are some lessons learned and looks back at previous years on the blog if you’re curious:

2011, 20122013, and 2014

 

Leave a Reply

