Getting older

e1686a8e2da4578bc258d646ceb7a19a

I had a dear friend come out to visit me a few weeks ago.  Several times while we were hanging out she looked me straight in the eye and said things like,

“I miss these conversations.”  

“I like talking this way with you.”  

“I’m having such a great time this weekend.”

It was so poignant to reflect in the midst of the moment upon the moment, finding it to be so true and so real, savoring it before it had even passed.

A couple months ago I had seen the meme above on Facebook and realized how often I have been reflecting with my spiritual director on living in the moment and how delicious it is to look upon our moments in life and realize in those very moments how blessed we truly are.

I think on that line in the Bible, in the story of the rich young ruler (Mark 10:21), where Jesus, being asked how to inherit the kingdom of heaven, before answering, looks squarely at such a tortured, faithful man, and loves him.  “Jesus looked at him and he loved him.”

That same friend and I will turn 35 this year, and it feels decidedly old to do so.  It feels like ages have passed.  And given all that passage of time, I’m so thankful for her willingness to look on me and love me.

When we were young, we thought everything was ahead of us.  But now that we’re literally greying and wrinkling, we find that life is not so much ahead of us, but within us, beside us, amongst us. To me, this is the wisdom and the beauty of getting older–that we don’t miss anything because we are so resolved to live the life that already is.

How do you savor the moment even before it has passed?                                                                            What does it mean to you, to be getting older?

Leave a Reply

