A New Year

My last post was in July 2015, and it’s been an interesting five months away from blogging.

I wasn’t sure I’d return.

I’ve been treading cautiously, because there are big changes in my life, and I’ve been trying to wrap my head around them.  Bluntly, my professional life and my personal life have collided over the past few years.  As my daughter nears two, I’m finally comfortable sharing her story and mine, which I will do on the blog for the foreseeable future.

My husband and I have become parents to a precious child with profound special needs.  It has changed and will change our life forever.  And it is good.

But I needed time and space to come to grips with that reality and who God is calling me to be.  And in the past half of a year so much has changed alongside that reality–I took a job as a quarter time pastor at a wonderful church, and I am teaching a writing seminar on disability.  And though I’ve struggled to apprehend it, it all feels so good and full and right.  I think I’m where I’m supposed to be.

And so while I’m still treading lightly, I’m ready to do so a bit more publicly.  I’m ready to share my journey again.  And I’m hoping it will encourage you, too.  When I began this blog nearly NINE years ago, I never imagined it would take this turn.  But then again, I’d only begun to conjure China, a Ph.D., a life betwixt amidst anthropology and theology.  I’m thankful for the ways that life is continually coming into view, and prayerful that the unknowable steps will follow God’s lead and God’s call on my life.  I’m excited for the ways Lucia’s life is transforming not only my personal but also my professional life for the better.

It’s been interesting and painful to learn that despite our penchant for understanding the breadth of humanity in all its difference, we anthropologists have not shown much passion for understanding people with disabilities.  In the new year, my blog will continue to grapple with culture and difference and faith, and I will refine this commitment to exploring and understanding disability.  I hope you will continue to journey with me into little sacred spaces.

2 thoughts on “A New Year

  1. Hey Erin,
    Its funny, both you and another blogger I follow have both been silent for a time. Both of you seem to have had a difficult season in life. I admire your courage and vulnerability to allow others to walk with you. I anticipate this next season of blogging will be as beautiful as your family.
    In Christ,
    Jeremiah

Leave a Reply

