On big plans

The woods beside the D&R Canal.  My photo.
The sunny summer woods beside the D&R Canal. My photo.

It’s been quite awhile since I posted anything and to be honest, I’m not sure how much life this blog has left.  It’s been such a joy over the years to write about faith and anthropology and China and life and share, but when that doesn’t come easily or isn’t one of my first impulses, it makes me wonder if there is a new chapter on the horizon.

Lately, life has simply gotten in the way, and blogs that feel they have to make apologies for that have always been (for me) some of the most arduous reads!  So I will be praying and thinking about what this blog may or may not become and be faithful to you by giving an answer sometime in the near future.

For the moment, great changes are in the mix for our family and all in the span of a few weeks: a surgery for my daughter and recovery, packing and moving to a new apartment, my graduation from Ph.D. program, and a trip to the beach with my family.  Sometimes in the midst of all these things when I feel particularly out of control, I’m tempted to cry out, “God, what are you doing?  I’ve got big plans here!”

And then I realize how righteous and petulant and silly that must sound to God.  Sure, I have plans, but God has the present, the future, and everything between in God’s hands.  I’m still working to trust God with the big things rather than struggling to swim upstream and wrest control from God.  And to trust and believe that God’s plans include the impossible, the not-yet-dreamed, and goodness beyond my wildest imagination.

Where are you struggling to trust God these days?  What are you learning?

2 thoughts on “On big plans

  1. What am I struggling with? Where I can best use my skills as a registered nurse. I currently work at a large medical center, but the work is exhausting and the hours are difficult as a single mom. I am thinking home health, where I can provide more personalized care.

Leave a Reply

