Embracing timing

My last post was a little cryptic, and there’s been a long silence on the blog (apologies), but I wanted to share the news that my husband and I are expecting a baby in mid-February.

We’re pretty excited and a little terrified.

The first glimpses of fall in Princeton.  My photo.
The first glimpses of fall in Princeton. My photo.

It’s funny how these things work.  When you’re a planner like me, you imagine things will go as planned, but the timing of this one was a surprise.  And at first we thought it was the worst time ever–February is a very busy month for my husband at work, and the due date fell right in the middle of a course I was scheduled to teach.

But as we’ve faithfully rearranged our lives, God has been working to open our eyes to the goodness and wisdom of this timing.  I’ve been able to go about  rescheduling the course, my husband’s been able to schedule a month off in February, and that will leave me with approximately six and half months until the fall when I might be teaching or preaching again.  Suddenly, it seems like pretty excellent timing, and I couldn’t be more grateful to God for God’s provision.

More fall leaves.  My photo.
More fall leaves. My photo.

To be honest, I haven’t felt all that great.

I definitely don’t identify with any of those women who said they felt their best during pregnancy or that it’s a magical time, but when I’m forced to slow down a bit, I try not to fight it, but rather accept that space and silence to breathe and be and see what else there might be to this life that I’m often tempted to rush through.  I have to trust myself and trust God that it all gets done, not how I’ve planned, or how I’ve envisioned, but that there’s definitely a plan and it’s a pretty masterful one at that.

Leave a Reply

