My cup runneth over

Did I mention these days that I just feel so full?

So full of inspiration, joy, and even need that I could burst?  

Spring foliage on the East coast.
Spring blossoms on the East coast.

My cup runneth over when I have conversations with students and colleagues who are discovering the beauty, the power, and the importance of culture, or when I hear the testimonies of people at our new church that affirm the importance of community and relationship.

My cup runneth over when our eyes are opened to the truth that relationships trump ambition, and so we lay down our fears, our brokenness, and our vulnerabilities for one another to bear.  My cup runneth over when I pray for the deep needs of people I love, and when we speak together holy words of comfort, hope, and peace, our voices breaking, this world brimming with the subtle work of the Holy Spirit.

My cup runneth over when I hear how my sister serves as a woman called to ministry, as we in Princeton plan to receive Chinese friends and pastors from a faraway land, and as I speak with a young woman who has left behind a foster family in China and cleaved, beautifully and powerfully, to a new one in America.

Lord, we are the works of your hands.  You lead us beside still waters, you restore our souls, you anoint us with oil, we bow before you, you dwell within us.

We are full.

4 thoughts on “My cup runneth over

    1. Yeah I think that article spoke to a lot of people in reminding us what’s truly important in life. I found it especially challenging as someone who’s done a lot of traveling and is far from friends and family. Still thinking about what it might mean to make relationships central for me, and would love to hear more of your thoughts and reactions.

  1. Erin,
    My cup runneth over when I think about how fortunate I am to have such a beautiful daughter from China. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for the difference you made in Eve’s life. My prayers continue to be with her foster mom and I give Him all the glory for uniting our blessed path.
    In His love,
    Donna

    1. Donna, your comment brought tears to my eyes. Thank you for all that you do, and I, too, am so thankful that God brought you and your family together. Blessings, Erin

Leave a Reply

