On nourishing the Spirit

I think I was in sixth grade when I received my first copy of Oswald Chambers’ devotional, My Utmost for His Highest.

I’ve reread the book countless times over the last couple decades (yikes?!), and it always amazes me how relevant Chambers’ messages seem for our time despite the fact that he lived and wrote at the turn of the twentieth century.

Reading through today’s devotional in My Utmost, I was reflecting on how Chambers’ says so directly that “when a person is born again from above, the life of the Son of God is born in him, and he can either starve or nourish that life” and the contrast between an ever-loving God and a God whom we cannot truly receive or know without will, effort, and commitment.

Incense prayer labyrinth at a temple in Yunnan, Kunming, China. Photo by Evan Schneider.

Chambers goes onto say that only at our wits’ end does it seem necessary or no longer cowardly to pray, “but as long as you think you are self-sufficient, you do not need to ask God for anything.”  And, prayer is “not a matter of changing things externally, but one of working miracles in a person’s inner nature.”

I’ve been reminded lately in conversations with friends of this illusion of control and how often we prefer to live that lie rather than the truth.

What I’m also reminded of this morning is that God is not ‘out there; but desires to live through you and me, and this work of seeing and knowing God is about constant growth, about choosing everyday to get beyond ourselves so that God can nourish us and those around us.

That’s what God’s been speaking to me lately…what about you?

Leave a Reply

