Ask…again and again

This morning God led me to the famous scripture, “Ask, and it will be given unto you; search, and you will find; knock, and the door will be opened for you” (Luke 11:9).  

However, I started reading at verse 5 where Jesus tells the parable of a friend who goes to another friend in the middle of the night to buy bread.  The friend says something akin to, “Hey it’s midnight, and my kids are asleep, go get your own bread.”  But Jesus points out, “I tell you, even though he will not get up and give him anything because he is his friend, at least because of his persistence he will get up and give him whatever he needs.”

And then comes the command to ask (and you shall receive), search (and you will find), knock (and the door shall be opened unto you).  So you see, it’s a misnomer to think that we need merely ask, search, and knock, because Jesus tells us to be nothing short of pesky, persistent, and to ask over and over and over again, and to trust that God is good (see verse 13).  

Sometimes I think in my prayer life I am anything but persistent.  I often hear myself saying, “God I know you hear our prayers, you know the desires of our hearts…’nough said.”  I stop short of asking for what I desire, because I’m a little afraid to come out with it, and that’s because, if I admit it, I think I’m a little short on faith.

I know, I know, me a minister-in-training, a little short on faith?  But I am!

My prayers are often big question marks rather than emphatic requests, and I’m certainly nothing like that maniac banging on the door for bread at midnight.  But our God says, bang on my door, and I will answer, not because you deserve it, or because you’ve been good to me, but because your persistence is only rivaled by my goodness, and I promise to send my spirit to accompany you in this cold, dark world.

So I’m going to keep up my end of the bargain here, God.  Hope you’re ready for your midnight wake-up call.  And thanks, you know, in advance for the good gifts (Luke 11:13).

 

2 thoughts on “Ask…again and again

Leave a Reply

