Home Sweet Home

What do you look forward to when you’ve been on the road for a few weeks?  Your own bed?  A good cup of coffee?  A home-cooked meal?

Me, too!

It’s been an emotional rollercoaster, trailing a local NGO and visiting with dozens of orphanage directors, foster parents, and children these past few weeks.  As I’ve mentioned before, children with disabilities face an uphill battle here in China, and with both foreign and national support for group homes and other kinds of residential projects, it’s hard to convince orphanage directors that foster care is a viable option.

But I’ll certainly be posting more on all that later.

For now, my exhausted self is reveling in the comforts of home: brewed coffee, soft couches, blankets, guilty tv pleasures, internet, and my husband’s cooking, of course.  Yesterday when I finally came home in the afternoon I found said husband smoking a piece of pork on the grill for practically the whole day in an effort to produce his own ham.  In addition, he made his own scalloped potatoes, and a side of asparagus–also quite the feat in China!

Other culinary creations that are inspiring me these days include this, and these, and these.  But alas, I have a whole board on Pinterest dedicated to recipes I’d like to try when I get back from China, so I should change the subject here, lest I take the whole home sweet home thing to another level!

So my plans for the weekend: sleep in (already accomplished), and lay low, catch up on some much-missed running, sleeping, and rest.  Maybe sneak in a dinner with a foster family, and try to avoid overdosing on the addictive Reese’s peanut butter eggs my mother-in-law sent along.  All in all, it’s good to be home.

What about you?

4 thoughts on “Home Sweet Home

  1. I was looking forward to a nice pillow. I am so thankful for not just one but several. I miss you. Your family is in my prayers.

    1. Thanks for stopping by, Shelley. I know what you mean- two pillows are hard to come by in Chinese hotel rooms! Hope you’re fairly well settled back in the US and sorry to miss you guys this morning- hope Xiao relayed the message, my class got rescheduled (shocking how quickly things get changed in China, right?!). Thanks for your prayers, and miss you, too!

Leave a Reply

