Travel Reading List

Maybe there’s no official reading challenge over here, but since we’re headed out to Egypt and Abu Dhabi for a nice long trip, I just went on a little Kindle spending spree with my Amazon Christmas money!

In between playing in the sand dunes, hiking Mt. Sinai, checking out Cairo’s minarets, hanging out on the beaches in Abu Dhabi, and riding camels (maybe?), I’ll be pouring over these…in no particular order.

Let me know if you’ve read any of these, as there’s quite a couple on my list, and I probably won’t get to them all.  I could use some direction!

Half the Sky by Nicholas D. Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn

My friend, Erin, bought me this one when she saw it on my goodreads list.  She said it might make me cry but it’s worth the read, and overlaps with some of my research interests.

Unaccustomed Earth by Jhumpa Lahiri

This one’s also been on my list for awhile, a collection of international stories that have gotten rave reviews.  And I loved the movie, The Namesake, so I’m in!

The Social Animal by David Brooks

Been hearing some good things about this one for awhile, and am fascinated by the mind, so here goes!

The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin

I mentioned before that I enjoy Rubin’s blog, and a friend recently gave the book a good review.  Will let you know how happiness works out!

What are you reading?  And what do you recommend?


3 thoughts on “Travel Reading List

  1. I rec’d “Half the Sky” for Christmas. My mother-in-law described it as one of the more powerful books she’s read. I haven’t started it yet (currently reading the other book they gave me – “Infidel”), but will hopefully soon. Enjoy your vacation!

Leave a Reply

