This Week in Food

From the majority of my food posts, you’d probably guess my husband is the main chef in our household.

And that guess would be right.

However, there are times when I like to think I can whip up something delicious on my own.  My husband is certainly a much more involved cook–this week he made chili from the ancho chilis my sister sent along from the states for Christmas–while I like to keep it simple.

To me, delicious, yet simple is spinach, stir-fried with a little garlic, onion, mushroom, and soy sauce, it  was the star of several of my meals this past week.  On the side one night I added some rice with a pinch of salt, oil, lime juice, cilantro, chives, and cumin seeds, all thrown in the rice cooker.

The other night I ate my spinach with a side of sesame noodles, the recipe for which I found on The Cutting Edge of Ordinary (and which she attributes to Pioneer Woman).

These were lovely and simple, and extra tasty with spinach on the side.  I added ginger to the sauce, because I love the spice of some fresh ginger thrown into the mix.

The best part about both of these meals is they probably cost me under 50 cents in China.  

On a recent trip out of the city into the countryside, I bought this unusual condiment, lemon hot pepper sauce, a local favorite, for my husband to try out.

Chinese friends say you usually put it on noodles (could be a good addition in the sesame noodle sauce), but we’re thinking chicken marinade?

The girls, especially, went crazy buying long yan gan, or dried dragon eye fruit.  The fresh ones remind me of the quenapas we ate from the trees in Puerto Rico, but if you haven’t had those, their fresh texture is a bit like lychee.

I figured it had some medicinal properties, because I don’t find the dried raisin-like fruit all that tasty, but then again, Chinese New Year is coming up, and everyone likes to get something special from the countryside!

Finally, since we’re out of the coffee I brought from the states, I’m back to the Vietnamese weasal coffee.  I know it sounds weird, but it’s pretty good.

What did you eat this week?

2 thoughts on “This Week in Food

  1. Don’t worry…we will send you some real coffee. What kind of roast/beans/etc do you like? Espresso or plunger? Send me an email. By the way, your spinach dish looks SO. GOOD. We MISS Chinese food like nothing else right now and I’m seriously considering licking the screen because I’d love to know how that hot lemon sauce tastes!!! No one hear eats proper Chinese (or Asian food). Jason went to a Chinese restaurant and ordered Sichuan beef IN CHINESE and he said what they brought him was NOT Sichuan beef…he was very sad. Love the photos!

  2. Haha, thanks Rachel. Fortunately we are headed out to Egypt and Abu Dhabi this week where we hear they have good coffee. But we’re never one to turn any down- we like dark roasts, and we have a coffee machine. Haven’t tried to lemon hot sauce yet, but we’ll report in as soon as we do. We’re getting ready for a break from Chinese food, and kind of looking forward to it. I guess that old adage about the grass being greener is certainly the case!

Leave a Reply

