A new year, a new thing

Do not remember the former things or consider the things of old.  I am about to do a new thing; now it springs forth, do you not perceive it?  I will make a way in the wilderness and rivers in the desert.  The wild animals will honor me, the jackals and the ostriches; for I give water in the wilderness, rivers in the desert, to give drink to my chosen people, the people whom I formed for myself so that they might declare my praise. –Isaiah 43:18-21

The title of this post is borrowed from the sermon title at our local Chinese church this Sunday, during which the minister challenged us all to put our hope, our fears, our faith in God during this coming year.

The message was simple, but it reminds me that in this season of goal setting and looking forward to new things, we must consider God’s vision for our lives, and humbly that remember as we make plans and dream dreams, it is only God alone who can make streams in the desert, and to whom the wild animals bow down.  

Our God is doing a new thing, do you not perceive it?

To what is God calling you to in this new year?

How will you show God praise?

Photo Credit

 

4 thoughts on “A new year, a new thing

  1. That’s a beautiful verse. I’ve been thinking about this same passage of Scripture this year & just did a post about memorizing Isaiah 43:10-21. I did a search on Google for a picture & loved the one on your post. It was neat to see that you used the picture for the same passage of Scripture. Have a blessed day!

Leave a Reply

