My constant

Do you ever get the feeling that the spiritual journey is at once disorienting and all so familiar?

The lessons that God reminds me of, that I am a student, not a teacher, that I need to rest in God’s grace and peace, live a life of joy rather than fear, are ones that I find myself learning and re-learning.  It makes sense– while we often feel bewildered, restless, unsure of where we are headed or where we come from, and we change and grow, God is, was, and always will be the same.

What a comfort I am feeling this evening to know God, that you are that constant in my life.

Lord, help me to reach for none other than your peace, to seek for none other than your spirit, to trust in none other than your strength.  And at the times when I am so weak, when I am so bold as to try to forge my way through, keep me true to you, by being no less than my rock, my constant, my everything.  

Amen.

One thought on “My constant

Leave a Reply

