Adoption Myths

I’m currently working on an article for The Adoption Constellation Magazine, a publication of Adoption Mosaic, and I wanted to share my inspiration for the article with all of you (see below). Writing articles is not only a good opportunity for me to review everything I’ve been learning about adoption over the past few years, but tap into that passion I have for the topic and for being an anthropologist. The article I’m writing will be a general introduction to what anthropology can and has contributed to the study of adoption, so it has to do with the importance of understanding culture and the perspective it can provide to a deeper understanding of the adoption process and the impact of adoption worldwide.

I really enjoyed a recent blog post in November (Adoption Month) by Shannon LC Cate that exposed some of the myths about adoption, while providing some important information to readers. I especially appreciate her attention to Myth #3: They Hate Girls in China. I’ll be looking to flesh that one out in my article, coming in the spring!

Leave a Reply

