On love:

Multilingual Love

I’m up late the night before church, already thinking about the week ahead, pondering Valentine’s Day and love, but in the Biblical sense. Yes, I am thinking about, well not just thinking about, planning to preach on lovethis Valentine’s Day!

But as I’m praying and contemplating and reading these letters to the early church, letters about faith, spiritual gifts, and unity, I notice that Paul can’t help talking about love.

And when all other things pass away, prophecies and tongues, even faith and hope, love is what remains. And so tonight I’m thinking about God’s love and about how worthy God is of our love, for his mercy and for his goodness. And I’m thinking about the other-worldliness of God’s love, the mess we make of it here on earth, and yet the constant call to participate in the kind of love that never fails.
If you’re looking for some scripture this week, read Ephesians 4:1-16 and 1 Corinthians 13:4-13 with me, and let me know what you make of God’s love.

Leave a Reply

