Books that make you cry

Books

Rarely does a book make me cry. Rarely does it bring tears to my eyes in the way another experience might. But lately, I’ve been immersed in several poignant books that have choked me up…just a little bit. For instance, on the long drive to and fro church, I’ve been listening to The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini on CD, and so far the entire book is heart-wrenching, but the part that really struck me was the sacrifice of the character’s new wife to care for his ailing father. A day after churning this Afghani’s family’s plight over and over in my mind, I had to read Elie Wiesel’s Night for my Spiritual Autobiography class. Surprisingly, I’d never read the book before and I was reading feverishly, flipping through the pages as I had to know whether Wiesel and his father would be separated in the horror of the concentration camp. Finally, it is the cultural disconnect that removes the little Hmong girl from her home in The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down (by Anne Fadiman) that creates an overwhelming sense of sorrow for me as I read. It is interesting to reflect that these three books come from such distinct cultural contexts and that much of the conflict in the novels occurs from misunderstandings in culture…perhaps that’s why they’ve been so powerful for me.
What books make you cry??

One thought on “Books that make you cry

  1. hi erin! this is mihee from the tillich class. somehow i came across your blog from someone else’s page, and somehow i got to their page, but i can’t remember how.

    anyways, i love your question, and my answers are:
    brothers k.
    prayer for owen meany.
    asian american dreams.
    bluest eye.

    i hope you don’t mind, i’d like to have your blog as a link on my page!

Leave a Reply

