“Oremos.”

No, not a mispelling of “oreos,” but Spanish for “let us pray,” which is precisely what I did this morning, in Spanish, with my first patients at Capital Health System, a family whose baby was born severely deformed and passed away last night. The opportunity sort of sprung itself upon us, which is, I gather, kind of the norm for CPE– we were touring the maternity ward one minute and the next minute the nurse was telling us they had a patient who would like a prayer for her baby, but the family only spoke Spanish. The chaplain looked at me and said, “I have an interpreter.”I have always found it humbling to put someone else’s words into my own, and in another language–translating can be riveting and exhilarating– today it was sobering. A tear tumbled down the woman’s face as I prayed the words the chaplain prayed, and I was humbled by her own words– that the prayer should be to thank God that she is alive to care for her other son and her husband, because that is most important.

One thought on ““Oremos.”

  1. It is daunting and amazing to say that this is exactly what you will experience constantly this summer doing what you are doing and I will be praying for you through it.

    love to you friend. see you tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

